Improve this Listing
National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine
Kansas City, Missouri
Friday, 10 March 2017 - 7:00 PM
Conductor: Volodymyr Sirenko
Use the Tickets button above to select your seats.

{ Single-Ticket Prices: $20 $25 $45 $50 $60 $70 }

Harriman-Jewell Series patrons have come to expect the best orchestras, and the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine conducted by Volodymyr Sirenko upholds that standard. The program will feature Kiev-born Alexei Grynyuk as soloist for Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3, with Dvorák’s “From the New World” No. 9, and Verdi's La forza del destino.

Formed by the Council of Ministers of Ukraine in November of 1918, the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine is considered to be one of the finest symphony orchestras in Eastern Europe. Since 1993, the Orchestra has released more than 100 recordings, and many have received international acclaim.

Volodymyr Sirenko has been the artistic director and chief conductor of the Orchestra since 1999. Born in 1960 in the Poltava region of Ukraine, Sirenko has been compared by the international press to other brilliant conductors such as Esa-Pekka Salonen and Simon Rattle. Sirenko was previously chief conductor of the Ukrainian Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Pianist Alexei Grynyuk attracted wide attention at 13 when he won the first prize at the Sergei Diaghilev All-Soviet Union Competition in Moscow. Later he went on to achieve numerous awards at international competitions including first prizes at the Vladimir Horowitz International Piano Competition in Kiev and the Shanghai International Piano Competition in China. Now enjoying worldwide critical acclaim, Grynyuk was described by Le Figaro as a “master of transparent and sovereign touch…astonishing personality and absolutely transcendental virtuosity.”

Who was there?
No one has selected to attend this event...
Who's on InstantEncore?
Harriman-Jewell Series
Partner Since: 13 Oct 2009
8 Fans
maitrishah3 nice blog. i like it. thank you so much. || || read more