Improve this Listing
Flagstaff Symphony: Masterworks I
Flagstaff, Arizona
Friday, 27 September 2019 - 6:30 PM
Daniela Liebman, piano soloist

John Estacio – Frenergy
Frédéric Chopin – Piano Concerto No. 2 op. 21, F minor
Peter Tchaikovsky – Symphony No. 5, op. 64, E minor

The clash of a cymbal embarks the symphony’s 70th season with Frenergy (frenetic energy), the aptly named opening piece by Canadian composer John Estacio. The 1998 work propels the audience on a thrilling ride to inaugurate this anniversary year.

“Dazzling” describes the Chopin Piano Concerto No. 2 as played by the sensational 17-year-old piano soloist Daniela Liebman. Enjoy the work of two prodigies: Chopin was only 20 when he composed the concerto in 1829; Liebman made her Carnegie Hall debut at 11.

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5 is one of his most popular works. The beautiful theme of the second movement has become familiar, a classic romantic Tchaikovsky melody.
Program Click for more info
Tchaikovsky: Symphony no 5 in E minor, Op. 64
Was there an encore for this performance? add an encore
Who was there?
No one has selected to attend this event...
Who's on InstantEncore?
Central Sound
Partner Since: 16 Dec 2013
6 Fans