Artists &
Arts Orgs.

Your fans have probably started a page for you already!

Sign up as a Partner to claim your page or start a new page.

Alan Hovhaness, Composer
11 fans
Alan Hovhaness (March 8, 1911–June 21, 2000) was an American composer of Armenian and Scottish ancestry. His music is accessible to the lay listener and often evokes a mood of mystery or contemplation. The Boston Globe music critic Richard Buell wrote: "Although he has been stereotyped as a self-consciously Armenian composer, his output assimilates the music of many cultures. What may be most American about all of it is the way it turns its materials into a kind of exoticism. The atmosphere...
Read More... |
Top Works   click for more info
Play/Queue Download
Hovhaness: Prelude and Quadruple Fugue, Op. 128
Composer: Alan Hovhaness
Conductor: Hugh Wolff
Ensemble: NEC Symphony
Prelude and Quadruple Fugue, Op. 128 (8:03) N/A
Hovhaness: Symphony No.17 "Symphony for Metal Orchestra" Op. 203 N/A N/A
Composer: Alan Hovhaness
Conductor: Charles Peltz
I - Andante (5:08) N/A N/A
II - Largo (6:38) N/A N/A
III - Allegro (4:06) N/A N/A
IV - Adagio (8:20) N/A N/A
Hovhaness: The Garden of Adonis, Op. 245 N/A
I - Largo (1:46) N/A
II - Allegro (1:53) N/A
III - Adagio, like a solemn dance (3:26) N/A
IV - Allegro (2:20) N/A
V - Grave (1:29) N/A
VI - Allegretto (1:21) N/A
VII - Andante molto espressivo (2:46) N/A
Hovhaness: Prayer of Saint Gregory, Op. 62b
Composer: Alan Hovhaness
Conductor: Cyrus Ginwala
Prayer of Saint Gregory, Op. 62b (5:16) N/A
Hovhaness: Prayer of St. Gregory
Prayer of St. Gregory (6:32) N/A