0 Ratings
Gioachino Rossini - La scala di seta - Ouverture
Seeded by kristiana on 26 Apr 2011
Author: LindoroRossini
Two full comic operas notwithstanding, the beginning of Rossini's career is best represented by a continuous succession of five one act operas or farsas, as Rossini himself described them: "La cambiale di matrimonio", "L'inganno felice", "La scala di seta", "L'occasione fa il ladro" (only this piece is designated by the composer as a "burletta" but the nature of the work gives us an opportunity to consider it an important part of this quintet of operas) and "Il signor Bruschino". All these works are also closely connected by the fact that they follow the same basic form with just a few variations. Structurally, all the first five operas share several obligatory elements: a lively overture; an introduction, usually limited to just three singers; arias for the main quartet of bass, baritone (or another bass), soprano and tenor (though one of these can be skipped); a central ensemble which feels almost as a first act finale, if the opera was just an hour longer (a terzet (in three op
Work: Rossini: La scala di seta
Composer: Gioachino Rossini
Period: Romantic